Service Area

The Wimmera Southern Mallee LLEN services four shires covering a total area of more than 28,000 square kilometres with a population exceeding 36,500. The Wimmera Southern Mallee region is the traditional lands of the Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Wergaia and Jupagalk peoples.

With its rich agricultural heritage and natural beauty the Wimmera Southern Mallee is a region driven by community. People seeking a regional lifestyle following the pandemic, an increase in jobs available in the region and a lower tendency of young people leaving the region to pursue education or employment are likely to contribute to population growth.

Opportunities in renewable energy, tourism, logistics and agriculture are expanding, along with those in supporting services. Employers are looking for more workers in sectors from banking, finance, legal, retail, through to machinery sales and servicing, health care, education, agronomics, and grains research and development. More information can be found in the Wimmera Southern Mallee Regional Skills Demand Profile.

According to the 2021 Census, there is just under 7000 young people in pre, primary, secondary and tertiary education in the region. The Wimmera Southern Mallee LLEN has unique strengths, responsibilities, and role to play in preparing and shaping our young people for future opportunities.


Schools in Shire Districts

Dimboola Memorial Secondary College
Dimboola Primary School
Jeparit Primary School
Nhill College
Nhill Lutheran School
Rainbow P-12 College
St Patrick’s School (Nhill)
St Peter’s Lutheran School (Dimboola)
Holy Trinity Lutheran College (Horsham)
Horsham Primary School
Horsham Secondary College
Horsham Special School
Horsham West – Haven Primary School
Laharum Primary School
Natimuk Primary School
St Brigid’s College
Ss Michael and John’s Catholic Primary School (Horsham)
Apsley Primary School
Edenhope College
Goroke P-12 College
Kaniva College
St Malachy’s Primary School (Edenhope)

Beulah Primary School
Hopetoun P-12 College
Minyip Primary School
Murtoa College
Our Lady Help of Christians School (Murtoa)
Rupanyup Primary School
St Jospeh’s Primary School (Hopetoun)
St Mary’s Primary School (Warracknabeal)
Tempy Primary School
Warracknabeal Primary School
Warracknabeal Secondary College
Warracknabeal Special Development School